Handmade Cat Scratch Ramp

Our cat, Coco, loves to keep her claws razor sharp.

She was feral for the first year of her life and she’s still a wild child at heart. She plays with a lot of energy. She throws her toys in the air, catches them, and then throws them again while running around the room… over and over again. She plays with her toys like she’s trying to kill them.

When she sharpens her claws, she does it with the same intensity. Lucky for us (and for her) she is a very well behaved cat and only sharpens her claws on her scratching ramp (and once on the tree when she was able to escape outside).

When we adopted her, I bought her a scratching ramp made of corrugated cardboard. It was relatively inexpensive. It was kind of like this one, but it was in the shape of a wave.

In true Coco fashion, she liked to climb up on it and get her whole body into the action. As you can imagine, this ramp didn’t last long and she broke it into about 4 or 5 pieces that looked like this:

IMAG2040

Of course, being the awesome cat that she is, she kept using it (well, them, since there were several pieces) as her one and only scratching implement. I appreciated that, but not the little pieces of shredded cardboard everywhere! I mentioned to my sweet and handy hubby that I was planning to buy her a new one and he told me that he would make something for her.

He had a 4×8 sheet of cardboard that was leftover from a recent lumber delivery (It doesn’t get any better than free!). He cut it up into 3” wide strips, rolled glue on both sides and then clamped it all together. He then made a pattern on a piece of scrap wood and, using the band saw, cut the cardboard to match the pattern. He cut some arts and crafts style legs and since she’s a “climb-aboard” scratcher, he reinforced the span between the ramp and the legs with some more corrugated cardboard and scrap wood.

Sorry, since he didn’t know I was going to do a post about this, I don’t have any photos of the building process.

IMAG2034

IMAG2036

IMAG2037

IMAG2039

IMAG2015

This ramp is so nice! It’s cute, heavy-duty and the cat LOVES it.

She’s been using it for over a month now and it’s holding up really well to her abuse, much better than the old one!

What kind of scratching post does your cat prefer?

Vi snakkes! (“See you later” in Norwegian)

          blah2beautiful     

Photobucket                How to Nest for Less     Days of Chalk and Chocolate

shabby creek cottage          Maiden D'Shade     I'm a Fan of My 1929 Charmer Blog!         DIY Show Off Project Parade

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Terri
    May 30, 2012 @ 08:12:24

    Mike is so clever!

    Reply

  2. A Purrfect Cat
    May 31, 2012 @ 10:29:49

    Nice! Alfie loves his DIY toys as well

    Reply

  3. Daniela
    Jun 03, 2012 @ 19:01:14

    the simple things in life are the best!

    Reply

  4. debbiedoosd
    Jun 03, 2012 @ 22:10:59

    Very cool project. Thanks for linking up to the newbie party. Enjoy.

    Reply

  5. Michelle http://happyhodgepodgehome.wordpress.com/
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 09:24:38

    Great idea! My parents have a couple of cats that would love this! 🙂

    Reply

  6. The House at Bluebird Lane
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 09:30:52

    Great idea! Your scratching post is terrific! I’m always picking up shredded cardboard from around the house. My three cats would love this! Thanks so much for sharing. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Lynn @ UpCountry Olio
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 13:34:57

    You are so lucky that you cat will used this scratching post and only this post! My last and only cat would only use our couch. I think I recovered it 3 times. You’ve got a great idea with this scratching post!

    Reply

  8. Cheryl in Wisconsin
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 10:49:24

    Nice project. Lucky cat, lucky you. I wish I would have been a little more proactive about directing my cats when they were young to some type of scratching ensemble. Like Lynn, my cats like to use the couch. Some day, when I get real ambitious, I should address this problem……

    Reply

Leave a comment