We have… cilantro??

 

I love the smell of rosemary. At one of our prior homes, the previous occupant had planted rosemary and mint, and both of the plants were huge. I loved it.

So, when I happened to come across rosemary seeds at my local home improvement store, I bought them. I was planning to plant only heirloom seeds, but I caved in and bought these seeds anyway. My reasoning was that, since we rarely cook with rosemary, this plant would be purely ornamental. Lame excuse, I know.

rosemary

I planted the rosemary seeds… or what I thought were rosemary seeds over a month ago. As the plant started sprouting, I thought to myself “That doesn’t look like rosemary”. It continued to grow and it is indeed NOT rosemary, it’s cilantro! I pulled off a leaf and it is very tasty cilantro, but not at all rosemary. I’ve never had this happen before. Have you?

 

 

The goods news is that we do a LOT of cooking with Cilantro! I now have rosemary growing as well.

 

 

Happy Planting,

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    May 08, 2012 @ 02:52:13

    I’ve never had that happen before! I’m glad you like cilantro. We’re growing it this year too, in fact we’re making sure we have a salsa garden planted. Too bad I don’t have enough room to grow the corn, we could make our own chips too.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Look what arrived in the mail! « Planetpowers

Leave a Reply

