Regrown Veggie Update

Sorry, I haven’t posted in a while. My mom came for a visit and I didn’t post while she was here. After she left, I was busy with Spring Break, yard work, going to garage sales (Fridays and Saturdays!), and everything around the house.

Anyhow, I wanted to update you all on our vegetable regrowing efforts.

Green Onions: We LOVE having green onions always available in the kitchen! It’s so great to just grab the kitchen shears and clip some green onions for a salad, baked potato, or whatever. It’s really handy.

Napa Cabbage: The plant has grown very tall and has really pretty yellow flowers. I haven’t seen any seeds to save, but I really enjoy having this beautiful plant growing in my kitchen window. I’m going to keep regrowing these.

Green Cabbage: The first green cabbage has regrown leaves (as you can see below). I’m not sure where we are going to end up, but it’s also a pretty windowsill plant just the same. The second one has just started growing new leaves.

Celery: We’ve been regrowing 3 different celery bases. They are growing slowly, but you can see the celery stalks growing. This afternoon, I saw a post somewhere and the person had buried and completely covered the celery base in soil. It seemed to be working better. I’ll try that next time.

I hope you had an awesome April,

Linking up to:
blah2beautiful Visit My 1929 Charmer Blog!  The Morris Tribe Blog Carnival

you are talking too much

Feathered Nest Friday @ French Country Cottage

The Ole’ Saturday Homesteading Trading Post @ Lil’ Suburban Homestead

Incomplete Link

DIY Show Off
5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cathy@My1929Charmer
    May 03, 2012 @ 07:17:27

    wow you look like you have some big windows, which a lot of light must come through. I’ve started veggies inside and always move outside. Do you keep them indoors all summer? I don’t have enough light to keep indoors. Good luck with you veggies. On I so love that deer, looks so much better than before pic! Thanks for sharing your creative inspiration over at Sunday’s Best!

    Reply

    • planetpowers
      May 03, 2012 @ 09:01:29

      Hi Cathy, Thank for the comment and the party. I’m actually waiting for the overnight freezing to stop. We’re still getting down into the 30’s on some nights and we had snow two weeks ago. We have a potting shed too. We’re starting a ton of other seedlings in there. I can’t wait to be able to plant outside. I’ve been seeing other bloggers gardens and I’m so jealous. Thanks again!

      Reply

  2. Cathy@My1929Charmer
    May 03, 2012 @ 07:54:23

    Sorry,don’t know how I got the sentence in there about the deer, must of been a blank out moment. It happens when you get older!

    Reply

  3. katie goldsworthy
    May 06, 2012 @ 20:19:06

    I’m loving that you had it all growing in your kitchen!! Inspiring! Thanks for sharing this at Creatively Living!
    –Katie

    Reply

    • planetpowers
      May 06, 2012 @ 21:46:57

      Hi Katie, Thank you for the comment and for the party! I started growing them inside for other reasons, but now I’m really enjoying all the plants growing in the house. I loved your stenciled rug tutorial. I only wish I would have thought of that a few years ago. I tossed out an old, stained rug that could have looked awesome like yours does now! Thanks again.
      Kat

      Reply

Leave a Reply

