Frugal Friday

“Spare and have is better than spend and crave. ~ Benjamin Franklin

Anyone who really knows us knows that we love a good bargain. On pretty much any Saturday morning you can find us at a garage or rummage sale. We’ve gotten some awesome deals on some great stuff and our daughters have an ample supply of beautiful clothes that we paid next to nothing for. Plus, I have several little treasured items that I found digging through someone else’s junk!

Recently, I signed up for the 23-Day Frugal Living Challenge. Today was the first day of the challenge. I’ve been reading through the forum and blog posts looking for tips and ideas on how to be more frugal.

I’m happy to say that a lot of the tips that I’ve read are things that we already practice. Some of these include: Buying used rather than new (this includes clothing, household items, appliances, etc.); using coupons; cooking from scratch; making your meals instead of dining out; planning your meals and buying bulk; running errands at one time to save on gas; putting on a sweater instead of turning on the heat; etc..

I’ve also come across some ideas that I want to put into action and some homemade recipes I want to give a try. I’m going to make Homemade Probiotic Deodorant, Homemade Lip Balm, and Homemade Teeth Whitener.

I’m also planning to try one of the many bread recipes I’ve come across. My family loves very thinly sliced wheat bread and I’m tired of paying more for a normal sized loaf, that’s just sliced thinner. Hey, Sara Lee! It’s the same size loaf!!

What are your ideas and tips? What do you do to save money and resources?

Leave a Reply

