Handmade Christmas Gifts (Part Deux)

I still get wildly enthusiastic about little things… I play with leaves. I skip down the street and run against the wind. ~ Leo F. Buscaglia

This year, I had all these ideas and lists for handmade Christmas presents. Scarves, lanterns, jewelry, etc. You know that saying about the best laid plans? It’s true.

I started collecting the supplies a few months before Christmas and began working on projects whenever I had a free moment. Let me just say I don’t get a lot of those.

I started on the scarves first. I saw a picture of this scarf in a sewing book a couple of years ago and always wanted to make one, but never had. This would be the year! I worked a little here and a little there and I ended up making three scarves. One for my mom, one for my mom-in-law and one for Z Man’s girlfriend.

I think they turned out really cute and I’m in the process of making more. The girls want me to make them each one and I’m also making one for myself. I really like making them and I’m planning to make more after I finish these three.

In the end, I didn’t end up making any other gifts this year. But, at least I have ideas for birthdays, Mother’s Day… and there’s always next Christmas! I’m just glad I had time to make those three scarves. I hope the recipients like them as much as I do.

Below are a couple of photos of two of them. The pic of the red scarf was a quickie (sorry for the dark pic) and I completely forgot to take a picture of the other one, but it was a white fleece scarf with the green/brown leaves. 

Green scarf w/ green/brown leaves (for my mom)

Same green scarf

Red scarf w/ Fall foliage for my mom-in-law

Mike also made a couple of gifts this year. He made two beautiful wooden trivets. Of course, I didn’t get any pictures….

Leave a Reply

