Handmade Christmas

I mentioned a while back that we were making some of the Christmas gifts this year and we did. I love the feeling of giving something that is handmade and from the heart. Here’s a little sampling…

This is the beanbag chair that I made as a gift for the girls. It’s over-sized, so they can both lay on it and read or watch a movie. It’s made of no-pill fleece, so it’s warm and comfy. It’s stuffed with shredded natural foam. I didn’t want to use polystyrene pellets (yuck!) and luckily there’s a foam cushion/mattress company right in SF where you can buy shredded foam (which saves all of those scraps from going into a landfill). I basically had to make two of them, since you make one out of muslin for the liner as well.

I’m extra proud of myself because this was the first thing I’ve made since sewing class in high school (I made a button-down shirt in 11th grade). Plus, I printed a partial pattern that I found online and had to enlarge it to the right size. I’m patting myself on the back now.


I had some extra fleece leftover, so I’m planning to make them matching pillow cases for their beds. I also want make something out of the scraps.

The kids made gifts for Mike & I. Z Man came up with the idea and the girls helped him put them together. They’re battery powered USB chargers made from an Altoid tin. You can charge your iPod or cell phone with them. They’re really cool! It’s such a great idea.

iPod/cell phone charger

The girls made gifts for each other. They both decided to make little teddy bears out of felt. They sewed and stuffed the bears themselves. Princess E wanted to make Princess A a panda bear. Princess A wanted to make Princess E a brown bear with pink stitching and “lipstick” lips. Princess A loves lip gloss!

Panda bear teddy made by "E" for "A" and named "Shauna"

Teddy bear made by "A" for "E" and named "Claire"

The girls also made ornaments for family, friends and teachers using glass balls, seed beads, glitter and glue. I forgot to take pictures before we gave them all away, but we kept one and here it is:


These were made for their grandparents (images courtesy my mom-in-laws blog):

They also made these ornaments over the winter break:

Mike was also going to make gifts for some of us, but he ended up getting too swamped with work on the job site (that’s a good thing!). He didn’t have time to work on any gifts. I think he’s planning to make those items when work slows down some (hopefully, not too much). But, I did get this awesome sweater that I absolutely LOVE!

Not homemade, but awesome!!

I realized after all the presents were open that (as an unexpected bonus) we did not have to deal with all the packaging that traditional gifts bring. Toys that are twist-tied, zip-tied, stapled, and taped inside the box. I’m pretty sure I can find a better use of an hour than spending it fighting to release a toy from its elaborate bondage. I refuse to go back to that.

I hope you had a happy holiday season and that the coming year is everything you want it to be.

Happy New Year!

“For last year’s words belong to last year’s language and next year’s words await another voice.” ~ T.S. Eliot

© Planetpowers, 2011. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given toPlanetpowers with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. meandreasen
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 23:13:46

    I love the gifts you all made…CUTE!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

