Our Anniversary

Last Sunday was our 23rd wedding anniversary. It’s hard to believe it’s been that long. In some ways, it seems like it went by really fast. We’ve been through fun times and, definitely, some rough times, but I always knew that no matter what happened, we would work it out together. I hope our girls are lucky enough to marry someone like their father!

To celebrate our anniversary, we went to dinner at a local New Orleans style Bistro  called “CreoLa”. It was delicious!

We started with drinks and an appetizer. I had the “Pommerita” (A pomegranate Margarita) and Mike had a Mint Julep (of course!). The appetizer was squash blossoms stuffed with crab & ricotta cheese and drizzled with a smoked tomato beurre blanc sauce. I’ve been reading “The Elements of Cooking” by Michael Ruhlman, so I actually knew what a beurre blanc sauce was!

Next course – salads: Mike had a Crawfish Hush Puppy Caesar Salad and I had the “House Salad” which was romaine, toasted pecans and mandarin oranges, tossed in a poppy seed vinaigrette. Yummy!

For entrees, Mike chose “Shrimp CreoLa” (sautéed jumbo shrimp atop shrimp and crawfish stuffing, laced with a smoked tomato beurre blanc. Served with rice and vegetables) and I had the “Taste of New Orleans” which is flash fried soft shell crab and Crawfish Etouffee. I LOVE soft shell crab! I haven’t found it on a menu in years, and was so happy to see it here. It was worth the wait!

We ended the meal with Café au Lait and desserts. I ordered the “Beignets & More” (Cafe du Monde style beignets with fresh fruit and whipped cream) and Mike had the Bread Pudding with a white chocolate Frangelico sauce. Mmmm!

Everything was SO good! I can’t wait to go again.

Leave a Reply

